Loading, Please wait...

8th edition: 10 April - 14 April 2019

Nominees Caribbean Shorts Award 2018
16 March 2018

For the second time, CIFFR presents the Caribbean Shorts Competition showcasing the best of short films from the cooperating film festivals in the Caribbean and Mexico. The first edition of this new competition took place during the 2017 festival and crowned the short film Yesterday’s Rain from Aruban filmmaker Armand Simon as the winner. The Caribbean Shorts Award winner will have his or her film screened at all participating festivals and at the next edition of International Film Festival Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

The Caribbean Shorts Award Nominees 2018 are:
El hormiguero (Anthill)
Alán González | Cuba | 2017 | 15’ | Spanish | e.s.

A peaceful young woman living in a marginal neighborhood of Havana has been robbed. Again. Even though she knows who the thief is, she says nothing. However, she is just one abuse away from embracing the violence she has been rejecting so far. Official selection Festival Internacional del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano en La Habana.


Ni los buenos se salvan (Not Even the Good Ones are Safe)
Jorge Pastrano | Dominican Republic | 2017 | 6’ | Spanish | e.s.

After a long night, Pedro, a Dominican taxi driver, tries to change his luck by playing the lottery. A decision that will change his life. Official selection Festival de Cine Global Dominicano 2018.


Où est le mâle? (Where is the Male?)
Teddy Albert | Martinique | 2017 | 7’ | French | e.s.  

A man leaves his conjugal bed every night. Determined to find out what he’s up to his wife decides to follow him in the middle of the night with the help of his best friend. Official selection Rencontres Cinémas Martinique.


Vuelve a mi (Back to Me)
Daniel Nájera Betancourt | Mexico | 2017 | 20’ | Spanish | e.s.

When siblings Rosita and Josue arrive to Chihuahua city, life seems to be boring while working in a market. One day, Rosita meets Eulalio, a thug who separates them until one day she disappears. Winner Short Film Fiction at Morelia International Film Festival 2017.


Short Drop
Maya Cozier | Trinidad & Tobago | 2017 | 28’ | English | n.s.

Lonely, retired civil servant Bartholomew is mistaken for a taxi driver on a morning drive through the busy streets of Port-of-Spain. What follows is long day of reckoning with memories, friendships, and revelations. Winner Best Short Film Trinidad & Tobago Film Festival.


Sin ayó (No Goodbye)
Elizabeth Francisco | Curaçao | 2017 | 12’ | Papiamentu | e.s.

A young girl uncovers the past through old memorabilia belonging to an elderly lady. A reflective journey around the true events that happened on Curaçao on the morning of 6 November 1967 when the Queen Juliana bridge collapsed.

The nominated films are screened in one group:
THU 12 APR 21:00 SAT 14 APR 12:45

The Award Ceremony takes place in Cinemas 1 on Saturday 14 April at 19:00



Curacao IFFR on Facebook    Curacao IFFR on Twitter    Curacao IFFR on Instagram    Curacao IFFR on YouTube

Recent News: